Eco-municipality efforts create markets for eco-fruit

As of June 2007, 11 Wisconsin communities have formally adopted The Natural Step principles and donned the title “eco-municipality”. They are Cities of Manitowoc, LaCrosse, Washburn, Bayfield, Marshfield, Ashland, Madison; counties of Douglas and LaCrosse; Village of Johnson Creek; and the Town of Bayfield. A number of these communities have strong ties to the apple industry, as you know. Watch the video below to hear community leaders talk about sustainablity. Go to the One Thousand Friends website to learn more about ecomuncipalities work in Wisconsin.